top of page

In a nutshell

In the company of shadows

i see my reflection in the shattered pieces of the mirror

lying across the floor

in the cracks of the walls, that my fingers trace

the broken glass that my skin cuts through

one step forward and three steps back

always pacing back and forth, on the sidelines

august came in, with a whirlwind of sonders

engulfing me into the universe, beyond

in the company of stars

it wasn't paradise

i later realized

up in the sky

cloudy mists shrouding my vision

walls that had started tumbling down

built back again

desperate winds, rushing past my frozen figure

pushing me back

into the nutshell.


People, people, endless noise. finally away from the chaos, those scrutinizing eyes.

I am overwhelmed with things I ought to have written about and never found the proper words.                                                              virginia woolf

Freshman year of college just ended. It was a rollercoaster to say the least. The myriad of times that I thought of doing this p̶u̶t̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶m̶y̶s̶e̶l̶f̶ ̶o̶u̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶r̶e̶, and my incapabality to brush off all my doubts and just click the button drove me insane. This insatiable desire of being seen, rather than hiding in the company of shadows - there's always something unsaid, some words you cannot utter. But the voices in my head, that never seem to shut up, the demons that hold me back from doing pretty much everything - "most days I am a museum of things I want to forget."


"you're living in a nutshell," someone told me. sure I was. This gauche self of mine, thought it was safe and sound, to be cramped up against these walls of the shell I had forged for myself, suffocating and claustrophobic at times, but safe, atleast. Where the only person who could hurt me was me.

But as soon as i stepped out, i instantly wished i hadn't. The truck of disepiphanies hit me- I'm not as impervious to the horde of people as i thought i was.

oh, how bad i wish i was.




30.09.2023

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page